Certifications of Lucini Italia

Certifications

Lucini italia products are all certified. Please select a certification to find out more.

What is 'Gluten Free'?

When a product is marked Gluten Free, it is recognized to be free from gluten, or formulated with flours and other ingredients that contain no gluten. Many of Lucini's products are gluten free, and are marked as such on the label.

Some people are extremely sensitive to gluten, and there is a wide range of tolerance in gluten free standards. Products may be manufactured on equipment that produces foods with gluten, or that are self-certified.

For more information on Celiac disease and gluten intolerance, please visit The Celiac Disease Foundation web site.

Gluten is a protein that is present in wheat, rye, and barley. It is gliadin, a specific gluten protein, that causes an inflammatory reaction that interferes with the absorption of nutrients. Gluten intolerance has become fairly common, and companies are continuing to offer more products suitable for this consumer. Gluten intolerance, also known as celiac disease, is a genetic, autoimmune disorder that affects the small intestine. Those with celiac disease are advised to avoid gluten-containing products completely. There are plenty of great ancient grains and other similar foods that are hearty and satisfying, including buckwheat, rice, quinoa, teff, and amaranth. There is also an abundance of prepared products that are gluten free, using potato, soy, and tapioca starches as gluten substitutes.

Many of Lucini's products contain no gluten, produced in a facility free from ingredients that contain gluten. Look for the Gluten Free mark on Lucini product labels.